2017-18 Teacher Contract Agreement Reached

Tentative Agreement Reached on Teacher Contracts
Posted on 05/18/2017
This is the image for the news article titled Tentative Agreement Reached on Teacher ContractsRepresentatives from the Nampa School District and Nampa Education Association have reached a tentative agreement on a new contract for the 2017-2018 school year. Once ratified by the NEA and adopted by the Board of Trustees, teachers can look forward to raises ranging from 3.65 percent to 7.54 percent, based on years of experience and postsecondary credits. The district employs about 850 teachers.

The new contract was reached months earlier than last year, when representatives did not reach consensus until September, 2016. This marks the first time in four years the teams have settled without seeking the help of a mediator.

“We’re so pleased with the collaborative environment at this year’s table and the willingness of all parties to listen to one another and work toward a common goal,” said Human Resources Director Rachelle Armstrong. “We are excited to be able to offer such a competitive package to our teachers. Their dedication to students is key to our success as a district and we appreciate their unwavering commitment to education.”

The new contract includes many key elements to better attract and retain experienced teachers, including some larger increases for teachers newer to the profession. Highlights include:

•       New teacher starting pay of $35,500, which is $900 more than the state minimum
•       An educational credit reimbursement of up to $180
•       Teacher supply cards of up to $150
•       No increase in insurance premiums

The district’s salary grid, which takes into account years of experience and education, includes an option for some teachers to earn a raise of as much as 16.3 percent based on continuing education credits. The proposal also moves speech language pathologists to a new pay schedule that will allow the district to be more competitive in a tight market.

Negotiation team members included Shannon O’Donnell, Joe Millard, Jaimee Hoesing, Kim Emerson and Val Samano from NEA; and Rachelle Armstrong, Randy Dewey, Steve LaBau and Greg Heideman, from NSD.

The contract is available on the web at